Neurofeedback

I work in a neurological office, at least for the time being, and last Friday one of the doctors offered us to have some neurofeedback training in the office, for free, while working, completely voluntary on Monday. Mondays are our slow day, on top of which I was more than caught up, so I decided to try it.

A little about neurofeedback: “neurofeedback is direct training of brain function, by which the brain learns to function more efficiently“. Your brain functions on many frequencies and while all frequencies should occur, some are better than others.

My experience was amazing. So at first it was awkward, I was one of the first people to go, and I got two small sensors pasted in my hair on either side of the top of my head (split the difference between your ear and the top of your head, that’s where they go), one on each of the top of my ears, and one on my right ear lobe all while my boss (the doctor) a few people in my office, and a couple f her kids watched. Then, they created a file for me, put up one of those screens with shapes and colors that just blend from one to the other, a little psychedelic but very cool, and some very relaxing music. There was also a screen with my brain activity that I enjoyed having up. The music kept skipping and I thought something was wrong, but after a few more minutes she was explaining how it works, and the skipping is actually the training occuring.

About 15 minutes in, the woman running the neuro-training came in and did some Reiki healing. This was my first time and I truly enjoyed it. If you’ve ever held two magnets together where they refuse to touch, that forcefield sensation I felt at the top of my head, and warmth

Back to the Neurofeedback and training; for 40ish minutes I watched the screens, or laid still with my eyes closed and relaxed listening to the music and the music skip, and then we took the metal bits and paste out and that was it.
I sat up slowly, walked lightly, and just felt so at ease. I don’t know if it was the Reiki or the neurofeedback but I am so glad I did it.

*If you enjoyed any part of this post, please consider liking it. If you loved it, please consider following me on WordPress. I also love comments including questions, advice, or a review of the post itself. Thank you for reading and best of luck in your adventures.*

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.