My Bucket List and How to Make Yours

I was watching Bones S5 E9: The Lady on the List and, due to goings-on in the episode, the characters began asking each other about and creating or proclaiming their Bucket List(s). I realized I don’t have one and when I thought about what I wanted to do, I just wanted to be successful in career, in my relationship, and ultimately to just be happy.

I met the love of my life.
I’ve eaten strange food, have traveled around the Bahamas, Mexico, U.S. Virgin Islands, and at least five U.S. states, maybe ten. I’ve been to Disney Land in California and Disney World is Florida. I’ve lived by beaches and in great awe of the mountains. If I never see all fifty and if I never see the eight wonders of the world or other major destinations, I won’t be disappointed.
I’ve ridden a motorcycle, been in limos, rode on a train, in helicopter, in a hot air balloon, and flown in a plane.
I’ve been to a Bruce Springsteen Concert and a few Billy Joel concerts as well as countless others. I would’ve liked to have seen Prince with my dad, Prince was one of his favorite artists.
I did a 50k bike ride, have run multiple half marathons, hiked a portion of the Appalachian trail, and ran a color run. I have no desire to run a full or do any x-athlons.

Just in case I’m missing something, here are some tips I considered and tried to create a list.

This list was mostly travel ideas or suggestions you’d get from the self-help section; from being able to plank for a minute to becoming an early riser to seeing Paris.

This one had travel, career aspirations, health and wellness, finances, hobbies, “adventures” (skydiving, waterfall…), and goals.

I guess my “issue” is that a bucket list to me seems more like new years resolutions or goals that are given way to long of a time-frame, your whole life, and no planning for achievement.

Writing a book is not on my “bucket list”, it’s a goal that I am currently working to achieve. I am working on my career goals. I do not have a travel bug and there is not an “adventure” I’d like to go on. I do want to visit all the tiny museums on the side of the road, but that’s a retirement plan (post is coming on that). I am presently working on myself physically and emotionally, I’ve even created my own mantra and recorded it so that I can listen to it on repeat.

The victim of the episode says he realized that-

“-You never get the whole bucket list done, you just keep adding things to it because every day there’s something new to amaze us. That’s how we know we’re alive.”

Maybe all these present goals are just bucket list items that I’m acting more quickly on or are more, time wise, attainable. And I will never not have something new I want to do. I guess what I’m saying is, whatever you want to do, whatever is on your bucket list, don’t wait.
Don’t wait for your next raise or your next big birthday. I mean, don’t ignore your responsibilities, but don’t let your bucket least remain a dream. Save up for that trip, use your vacation time, live a little before it’s too late.

*If you enjoyed any part of this post, please consider liking it. If you loved it, please consider following me on WordPress. I also love comments including questions, advice, or a review of the post itself. Thank you for reading and best of luck in your adventures.*

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.