Recent Book Reviews

Here’s my ten most recent book reviews. To see more of my thoughts on books I’ve read, please find me on GoodReads. Message me, follow me, let’s talk books!

The Summer Children 5/5
The Collector #3
Gripping
I love this series and having read the third one now, I can’t wait to read the fourth!
The excerpts between done of the chapters helps break up the book while also mysteriously giving a backstory to an undefined character.
Love the team and their dynamic, the inclusion of previous victims for an update on where they are and how they are doing, and the emotions portrayed so well.

Ask for Andrea 2/5
Just, like my opinion man. Did not enjoy, skimmed most
It was really boring for most of it, giving extensive details about memories and the past that had no impact on the plot. These details did not help me to identify with the victims.
I enjoyed the plot and sections of the last few chapters.
This book may be great for some people, genuinely. I was not a fan.

The Every 4/5
Funny, dark, and beleiveably insane
I really enjoyed this book! Just crazy nonsense around every corner that you could truly see potentially, actually happening in the near future. The main character is loveable and can easily be identified with. Overall, I would recommend this book.

China Rich Girlfriend 5/5
Crazy Rich Asians #2
Wow!
This book had so many great plot lines and turns that intertwined in surprising and delightful ways. This was a great sequel and I couldn’t be more excited to read the next one!

A Marriage of Inconvenience: 5/5
The Persecution of Ruth and Seretse Khama
Informative, sensational
This story is rooted in racism and segregation and the way this happened was sad and layered and I couldn’t believe I had never heard of this.
No spoilers just read it. It’s a little thick, and it needs to be.

A Serial Killer’s Daughter: 3/5
My Story of Faith, Love, and Overcoming
-No Title for Review-
Most of the book was interesting and well written. The juxtaposition of her dad and BTK was insightful. She questioned her faith, and I can understand that. For the last third/quarter of the book, it was repetitive and was pushing faith and quoting Bible verses excessively and a lot of talk about her kids and I didn’t enjoy it or learn anything from it.
I commend Kerri for writing this book, and I urge you to read it and to remember that the families of the perpetrators are due kindness and understanding.

The Lost Apothecary 4/5
-No Title for Review-
The subtle way the characters backstories are filled in, the emotions portrayed, and the overall character development for the main character was exceptionally done. The story seamlessly unfolded with flair and drama and twists. I felt I was in the city, on the adventure, and fighting alongside her for resolution of the complicated relationship. Would recommend.

The Collective 2/5
-No Title for Review-
I barely read this book. I couldn’t get into it. I read two chapters before I gave up. The style, language, and other core techniques were not for me. I marked it as two stars and moved on.

Nothing Is Strange with You: 3/5
The Life and Crimes of Gordon Stewart Northcott
-No Title for Review-
This was interesting, horrific, and dispicable. The story and background were worth reading this book. I gave it three stars because it was dry, dense, and occasionally confusing.

American Predator: 5/5
The Hunt for the Most Meticulous Serial Killer of the 21st Century
-No Title for Review-
Was shocked by this serial killer. I had never heard of these before. I don’t want to spoil too much so I’ll keep it vague; the plannning simultaneous with spontaneity, the variety in the victims he chose, the geographical range, and the way this ended was astonishing. Well written, easy to read and intriguing, would definitely recommend.

That’s 10; let me know if you’ve read these, if you agree with my reviews (be respectful) and if, based on these, you have recommendations that would be great!

*If you enjoyed any part of this post, please consider liking it. If you loved it, please consider following me on WordPress. I also love comments including questions, advice, or a review of the post itself. Thank you for reading and best of luck in your adventures.*

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.