Organizing My TBR

Like many of you, I have an exceptionally long long list of books that I want to read. For those of you who don’t know, a TBR is a To Be Read list, essentially books owned or that we would like to own or borrow from a library that we would like to read at any point in the future. The question is, how to decide what to read next and how to keep track of these books?

On my Kindle, the books that I have purchased, reserved on my Kindle Membership, or that I have received for free from Kindle First Reads, are organized into folders. I have the typical folders: fiction, nonfiction, thriller, self-help. I also have two folders which keep me on track, I have a “currently reading” and an “on deck”. I read multiple books at once, especially because one of them is a daily journal prompt and I like to switch between books so I have time to digest one. My on deck is exactly what it sounds like, it’s so that I can prioritize what I want to read next without having to go through my TBR, plus it gives me a chance to think about it. I can add books, remove books, and then move them into my “currently reading” when I’m ready.
If you have an Amazon membership and are not taking advantage of Kindle First Reads, I urge you to do so; you get 1-2 free books per month. If you aren’t a Prime member, you can still sign up and get books for $1.99 each month.

I also have physical, hardcover and softcover, books. I keep a comfort book, two “currently reading”, and an “on deck” book on my nightstand. You may be asking, “does she read really read four-ish books at once”, yes I do. Usually it’s fine, like watching an episode, or five, of one show and then watching a different tv show. But once I was reading two “spy novels” at once and those almost burred together, I made it through though.

How do you organize your TBR? Do you read multiple books at once? Any tips for me?

*If you enjoyed any part of this post, please consider liking it. If you loved it, please consider following me on WordPress. I also love comments including questions, advice, or a review of the post itself. Thank you for reading and best of luck in your adventures.*

4 thoughts on “Organizing My TBR

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.